Local Cricket Stars Honoured on Divisional Teams of the Year

By Harry Shorthose

Both Carlow and Bagenalstown Cricket Clubs were honoured with players on the Cricket Leinster Team of the Year for their respective divisions recently.

Bagenalstown’s title winning first team saw five representatives on the Division 7 Team of the Year. The captain, Zeeshan Mumtaz led the way with a great all-round performance (449 runs at an average of 37.42, the highest in the division, and 28 wickets at an average of 10.57) with Marcel Bruns (210 runs at an average of 35) and Sunny Charles (208 runs at an average of 34.67) getting in as batsmen.

Shozab Ali Taj was chosen as the wicketkeeper with his 13 dismissals being the highest in the division whilst Abdul Sattar was chosen for his bowling (13 wickets at an average of 9.62).

Lijo Joy was the only Bagenalstown representative on the Division 11 Team of the Year with their 2’s narrowly avoiding relegation, despite equalling their highest overall finish since their inception in 2011.

Joy’s 11 wickets at an average of 11.73 was enough to see him earn a place with his figures of 7-15 against Rush the highest in the Division this season.

In Division 16, the veteran figure of Sean Farrell was the sole Bagenalstown representative as their 3’s recorded their lowest league position to date. Farrell was picked as the wicket keeper with 6 dismissals and 160 runs at an average of 20.

Saquib Nagra was the sole representative on the Division 8 Team of the Year for Carlow, who finished second in the division with a points deduction for a walkover on the final day costing them, for his all round contribution (328 runs at an average of 30.67 and 15 wickets at an average of 28.53).

Administration errors meant that Carlow 2 were bottom of the table but they had two representatives on the team of the year with 19 year old captain, Sofiat Alam (261 runs at an average of 37.29) chosen as a batsman and Mohammed Younus (21 wickets at an average of 7.38) as a bowler.

“It is a proud moment for everyone in Carlow and at Carlow Cricket Club having three players selected for Team of the Year.

“Every player has been completely dedicated and enjoyed playing cricket. Being on the Team of the Year further induces the desire for excellence and professionalism,” added Carlow Chairman, Mohammed Rafique.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top